An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

A patient with a very contagious disease, has a lot going through his mind, whether he will get cured or will have the disease forever. Some disease can even take the lives of patient. Doctors are always there for all the treatments of a patient, but one cannot go to a chest physician for a kidney disease. One cannot expect a good treatment if he has a very bad judgements about the disease. The author above claims that patients should be given permission to access the records of a doctor to expect a better treatment. I mostly agree with the claim that records must be shown to patients, but also at the same time one cannot judge the doctor by his past records.

To begin, even after a doctor has completed his graduation with a good degree and has a great knowledge in the field, there are some cases where they are not good at operations or taking it with hands. One can take example of Dr. Harish Chandrabose, a professor from Indian Aims Medical University, he is a well known doctor and people from far around the world comes for a medical checkup to him. But he has many allegations that he is not that good as a surgeon, he has misreably failed 4 operations. Because of his bad records people stop coming to him for operations. For a patient, it's about a matter of life or death, one is spending profuse of money in order to get cured. If a person is not sure that about how skilled the doctor is, the person will not be convinced for the operation. It is the responsibility of a doctor to show his records in order to convince the patient that he is capable for the operation and has successfully performed many such surgeries in past.

On the other hand, even if a doctor does his job well but if person could not sustained because of his weak or delicate conditions, one cannot question the doctor for his job. If a person already has a weak liver and even by transplanting the liver couldn't saved his life, then it's not the doctor who should be questioned. The job of a doctor was to transplant a liver, if he sucessfully did his job and even after that still patient couldn't survive, then it's the will of god to decide how long was he in this world. For a single bad record after a 100 good records, doctors are not god who can predict the future of a patient whether he will live or not.

Whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition, is a very nuanced statement to say. In conclusion, for patients, yes sometimes they should check up their records before any treatment, but not all the time a doctor can gaurantee their lives. Even after a successful treatment people can die. Hence, it is very uncertain to say such a bold statement.