An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

An ailing patient should definitely have the right to access his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients under particular circumstances and for a number of reasons. Having such access may help the patient to determine the competency of the doctor he is going to trust his health with. This access to previous record may not be ethical or productive in every situations but can be beneficial in the specific circumstances explained in the following paragraphs.

Having seen and studied the record of treating previous patients in a similar situation can make the process of choosing a doctor much easier and free of stress for the paient. It is never easier for a patient to trust the ability of a doctor he does not know well as the medical treatment will have a direct impact on his health and this facility will help him in doing so.

It is important though, that the record being accessed by the patient strictly includes the treatment of only the former patients in a very similar situation from a medical point of view as only then it will truly reflect the competency of the doctor to treat this particular patient. If the record of patients at a much severe and hopeless level are made accessible to a patient with a comparatively better health, they might misconstrue the doctor's ability.

On the other hand, if the patient does find out a record of unsuccessful treatments on a number of similarly afflicted patients, they might dodge a bullet and increase the chances of a successful treatment by approaching a different doctor. It will prove to be a vital and beneficial facility at the patient's disposal and will help to improve the overall healthcare condition.

To conclude I would say that I agree that an ailing patient must have access to his or her doctor's record but only as long as the integrity of the said record is maintained and includes treatments that truly reflect an indication to a doctor's competency to treat a patient.