An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Doctors are considered next to God, as God gives us Life and doctors have the capabilities to save us from the different hazardous ailments we suffer from. They protect us from pernicious diseases through their empirical experiences and also treat us meticulously. We can't determine their competencies merely seeing their annals, there are number of factors which decide for the capabilities and working ability of any doctor. The argument stated is rife with holes as it doesn't take into account many prominent factors. I'll elaborate it with a few instances.

Firstly, sharing records of the ailing patients is the violation of law which any doctor won't be permitted to do. Every individual has the right to privacy so, by merely going to doctor and asking for the records isn't passable Also, by merely seeing the records of a person, one cannot judge the competency of the doctor.

Secondly, the medical case of one individual may vary from that of the other. A person who is suffering from diabetes may also suffer from BP issue or any other health ailments whereas the case of other individual may not be the same. So, the doctor examines the case and then work accordingly. Another example can be of a cancer patient. Two people suffering from cancer the ailment is same but one is in first stage whereas the other in fourth. So, the doctor cannot deal similarly in both the cases. So, merely ailment cannot decide for the capabilities.

Some may argue that it may help the ailing patients by knowing record, as it'll give them an insight about how capable a doctor is, but for that we can't break certain laws and violate rules. And also, merely viewing a bundle of files won't help. The case of an individual presented may be entirely different from the dealt ones.

In the nutshell, I would say it's unequivocal to consider that by just checking the reports one can know the capabilities and competencies of Doctor. There are many factors which counts, there are many possibilities with which any medical case may be bounded. So, without considering those reaching to any such conclusion would be stupefying.