An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The ailing patient should not be given the access to the doctors record of treating similar patients to enable him to decide whether the doctor is competent. Allowing this medical record of other clients of the doctor is actually a breach of doctor-patient confidentiality. Most of the time the hospital or the clinic should decide to select the perfect doctor for any patient. Here is why it is very important.

The patient is not a medical expert. It's the task of the hospital management to assign the doctor based on the problem that is treated. Allowing the patient to see the other patients record treated by the doctor will only create confusion and many misconceptions. Sometimes a benign symptom can be a identifier of a particular disease based on the other factors of that particular patient, where the same symptoms is harmless in case of some other patient.