All cities should devote at least five percent of their budgets to programs that preserve and protect existing parks.

It is amenable to spent 5% of a city's budget on the programs that preserve and protect existing parks considering the fact that the parks are operational and running and are helpful in beautifying and cherishing the moods of the residents and the atmosphere of the city.

Parks are generally, public places created for the public for their enjoyment and for the beautification of the city as well. Having an aesthetic, trendy park which attracts people is a boon for the city as well, as it allows the city to be a point for tourists to hangout in. Which is again in effect beneficial for the city's economy, as having a succesfully running park gives rise to a number of local vendors and shops in general, thus creating income generating oppotunity for them.

What attracts people and tourists to a park are the opportunities to have a quality time at that place. The city administration should conduct a survey of the moods of the visitors which come to the city's exisitng parks, the survey should be conducted on happiness quotient of the visitors.There should also be a survey to assess the environmental benefits which the parks provide, opportunities for the local vendors that arise because of the park.

After analysing the survey the city administration should work on the data they have gathered for the betterment and proper functioning of the extisiting parks. They should increases the greenery and options for amusement activities. The parks should be enjoyable for every age group.

The exisitng parks should be upgraded with equipments and points of attraction so that the parks become more up to date and enjoyable.Hence, it is paramount to have atleast 5% of budget devoted for the maintenace and betterment of the existing parks.

Hence, I believe with certainty that devoting a modicum amount of atleast 5 percent of the budgets to the preservation and protection of the existing parks is wise and beneficial for the city and its people, thus enhancing the beauty,atmosphere and economy of the city.