In all levels of education, affection should be focused first on theory in order for students to understand the concepts rather than practical’s to what extent do you agree or disagree?
Theoretical teaching is the foundation on which all forms of education are laid and as
such the writer believes it is important to focus on it first before moving on to practical’s. I
disagree to an extent with the statement because practical’s not only give a hands-on
experience to the student, but they also make it easier to remember the subject being
discussed however, starting off with theory helps the student to understand the concepts.
Starting off with practical’s will give the student the opportunity to see first-hand
what it is that will be discussed in the theoretical class so that eventually when they’re in
class they’ll be able to relate what they’ve seen to what they’re hearing. About 5 years ago,
during a chemistry practical class, I had the opportunity of carrying out the titration
experiment by myself with my teacher before we had discussed that topic in class. This
experience made it easier for me to understand what my professor was saying when class
discussion started.
Carrying out practical’s also helps to improve a student’s memory of the procedures of the
procedures being carried out. According to Dr Singh a professor of Engineering
communication in Covenant university, we tend to remember up to 90% of what we do as
compared to just 7% of what we hear. I have personally seen the effect of doing practical’s
first as earlier sighted during my chemistry practical, during the class it was so easy for me
to recall the procedure for what I had done.
On the other hand, starting with the theoretical aspect lays a solid foundation for what is to
be done during the practical, it goes a long way to make the practical’s easier as you can
finally see what you’ve studied. Over the past few weeks, I’ve worked as a teacher’s
assistant in local public schools in Edo state, Nigeria and I have been able to see first-hand
the impact theoretical study has on these students before practical’s, as a vast majority of
them can draw links between what they’ve studied and the practical they are conducting.
In conclusion, I disagree to an extent with the statement because practical’s give the
student an opportunity to feel the work and it also helps to ensure that the procedure is a
part of them nevertheless, theoretical study helps to fully dive into the concept and gives
the student a full understanding of what they’re diving into.