All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The modern workplace is akin to a giant machine, one built up of many moving parts and components joined together in a delicate balance. The workings of that machine are best known to those who's day to day tasks are caring for and ensuring the contnued productivity of that machine. To bring in an outside hand to dictate the workers on how to solve issues would inevitably lead to discord.

A worker who's day involves solving ever arising issues knows best the delicate manuevering that takes. Hiring a consultant that would charge the company exorbitant fees to solve an issue or increase productivity would have short-term benefits but will more often than not serve as nothing more than a band-aid. If a company were to look inwards for the solution to their problems, employees would be more comfortable coming forward with solutions, which would save fees and open up channels of communication between management and the workforce. Increased efficiency and profit are a great motivator for businesses and employees will work towards these goals if they see that their contributions are appreciated.

By spending time to hear the complaints and suggestions of the employees who are at the forefront of any issue or task, the wealth of knowledge gained by any one employee would be shared and circulated throughout the companyand can eventually serve as a guide or template for particular tasks. This can also open up routes for promotionm, which would endear the workers ever more to the cpmpany and show that their input is noticed and can be rewarded. Many senior management staff and executives were once at the bottom of the ladder, but through the recognition of their skills and creatitvity were able to rise to the top. In 2021 during a shareholders meeting Amazon executives brought on state two warehouse workers who had saved the company millions of dollars in time saved after they suggested a more efficient way for the workers to retrieve items from shelves. Such ingenuity can only come from within the ranks of a company.

An argument can be made that a contractor would save time and lend an outside perspective and solution not open to the employees. This must be weighed against the cost of such serveices to determine if it is the best course of action, and research has shown that it not always is. Many contractors take advantage of the dependence these companies come to have on them and abuse the power given to them.

In 2020 a Nigerian company Alpha Beta that had been brought in to solve the tax collection issues of the Lagos state government was accused of overcharging for basic services rendered.

A reasonable compromise must be met bwween an organization and its workers on the appropriate and best time to look outside for help. This must come after all internal avenues have been exhausted or in a great emergency which no one in house is equipped to solve. This would boost overall morale, retention rates and workplace satisfaction