People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans are by our very nature emotional beings. No matter how enlightened we think we have become at our base level we experience the world with deep emotions. We laugh when having a good time with friends and cry during bad days or events. Our emotions have helped us survive for millenia. Those that are able to push down those emotions in the heat of decision making are to be applauded, but that does not mean that they are superior. I disagree with the prompt and will elucidate my stance in the following paragraphs.

Poor decision making does not only entail the involvment of emotions in the thought process, although that has been a common culprit. It is having access to all the facts and information necessary to come to an informed and rational decision and still choosing to go the opposite way or not knowing how to put those pieces together. Decisions made in the heat of the moment generally have no logical basis behind them, but that does not make them bad decisions. Justifications can certainly be made after the fact if the pathway between the emotional choice and the rational one is the same. If someone rear-ended my car at an intersection and then drove off, my immediate reaction would be to follow after. This is certainly an emotional decision but my justification for that will be proven true.

A good decision maker can separate their emotions from the task or challenge at hand and drive forwards towards the goal. But must that be the only way? Can the strategic input of our emotions into our decision making enable us to make better choices? There has to be a method of reasoning and thinking that will allow us to factor in the emotional aspect of any action. "How does this choice make me feel?". "Would I be happier if I was to walk down this path?". These are bgood questions that cannot be avoided when embarking on the journey of reasoning. The options can then be weighed against logic and juxtaposed to determine the best course of action.

It is important to note that emotional decision making can be an effective way of approaching challenges, but it is up to the individual concerned to determine whether this is an appropriate course to be taken. The disparity between the purely rational thinker and the emotional one might not be as far as the prompt suggests. This does not make either such people bad decision makers.