All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary

The importance of the insight provided by external consultants and supervisors is not to be undermined, as the perspective of an outsider could evince details that may not be sensed by those within the organisation. The same can be said for the employees within a company, their perspective on matters could be worthwhile. What should be our main focus is the quality of the advise offered and not by whom it was brought forward, as long as the information and reasoning is rational the value of employee and external consultants contributions are to be respected.

Hiring an external consultant to oversee the functioning and offer productive ideas that could enhance the quality and efficiency of a company are to be appreciated. The contribution and perspicacious nature of an outside consultant could help look at the organization from a different perspective and shed light on consequential parameters. When an individual zoom's out and observes an organisation, they are more likely to identify certain factors and practices that may be subliminal or routine to the employees that work on a daily bases and would be likely to be ignored by the employees. For example when certain people living within a household are exposed to certain odors for a long period of time, they attune to it and are less likely to notice it after the passage of time, but an outsider would very likely notice the the smell.

Also sometimes, it becomes very important to invite external experts from fields to offer their professional advise, especially when the problem or target is beyond the scope of the employee working for the company. For example say the for an automobile parts company, where most of the employees are engineers and technician, opinions related to improving technical properties of motor parts such as the efficency, strength etc. Employees could contribute to that since it lies in their expertise, but when challanged with investing in the stock market or improving client awareness, external supervisors would definitely be needed from the respective profession to offer advise.

On the other hand, employee contribution also has its merits and should be heeded to company management. The employee are more aware and well versed in the day to day activities within the company and could make valuable sugggestions to management.The problems and short-comings of the company as perceived by the employee could have tremendous impact on improving the overall state of the organization.

In conclusion, the importance and significance of employees and external supervisors or consultants advise cannot be undermined. It would be in the best interest of a company to muster cooperation and find a common ground between the advises evinced by employees and consultants as well.