All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is increasing trend now days, where companies are hiring consultants for increasing there efficiency. It has worked for lot of companies. I also thinks it is a good way too. So let's first discuss the advantages of hiring a consultancy

A third party view is always good to have thing. As a company or a employee, there is always a feeling that they are doing good and they can't improve then that. A consultancy or a third party can help the company to benchmark it's employees performance with it's other competitor. A company can know if it's employee are really working great or it is just a misconception. Also, it can benchmark the company performance itself with the other companies and help them understand where they are lacking and areas of improvement.

The other benefit can be that a consultancy can help a company implement best practices in it. A company can belong to manufacturing, retail or service industry and may be the best in their business but the consultancy or consultants are experts in the operational efficiency techniques or processes. They have vast knowledge of doing so in various different industry verticals. A company or it's employees can't match that expertise. The consultancy can help to implement the processes which proved to be successful in other companies and help the company to become more efficient.

This doesn't mean a company should not listen to it's employees. The employees are most important and any process a consultancy would give will be implemented by them only. A company should always listen to the employees and take decisions accordingly. The company should make it's employees realize the importance of the little changes that can increase efficiency and reward them for that.

So from the above we can conclude that listening to your employee's is important but a third party view can help you rectify those problems which are even not known to company