All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The prompt suggests a binary decision between trusting the experts -- the outside companies that specialize in maximizing efficiency -- and listening to its own employees. This is a false dichotomy. The reality is that companies should both consult experts and pay more heed to the ground-level insight from their employees.

Consulting companies exist for a reason. They are designed to do one thing only and to do it well; they find inefficiencies in businesses and help companies maximize efficiencies. There are, almost universally, high-level problems, fundamental failures of structure, incentives, or implementation within companies. A good consultant should be excellent in analyzing all the data and finding the best way for a company to improve its performance by fixing those issues.

Just because someone works in a field doesn't make them experts on everything related to it. Would you trust an airplane mechanic to fly your plane, or a pilot to maintain it? No, you would not. The same rule applies here. Surely mechanics and pilots both offer valuable insight the same way that both consultants and employees do too.

Employees have their own perspectives that consultants might be unable to recognize themselves. While a consultant might be able to look at the company's operations and see that one specific task is redundant and that eliminating that redundancy will save the company significant amounts of money, employees are more likely to see things that wouldn't be represented in the company's data or that aren't easily apparent to an outside observer.

For example, I used to work in a bank. Our bank had incentives and competitions to sign people up for checking accounts. In theory, this was a great idea that management thought would encourage the company's continuing growth. In practice, this led to a lot of borderline fraudulent behavior from employees. Many branches would openly sign up friends and family for accounts; people that had no intention of actually using their accounts or being profitable customers for the bank in any way. The incentives remained misaligned, however, while the bad actors continued to be rewarded. Had anyone in management above the branch level talked to me, they quickly would have realized that their system was not working as they had intended it to. A consulting group could have missed that.

For any company to have the best chance of success, they should be willing to take good ideas from any source available. Employees can have some great ideas and great feedback, but most companies' employees won't understand the financial realities, broad goals, or any part of the company that doesn't directly affect them. Consultants, on the other hand, might not catch every implementation problem that employees witness, but they are trained professionals, and the good ones continue to get contracts with companies for a reason. Only by fully utilizing both sources can a company hope to reach its pinnacle performance.