All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The assertion about suggesting corporations to 'listen' to their own employees instead of hiring outside consultants to aid the company for better operation is a fallacy. This notion heavily depends on the fact that employees of the firm will be prescient about the market scenarios, aware about the competition their firm is facing and the plethora of other factors that impact the performance of the firm. On the other hand, outside consultants are adept at studying the optimization of a corporation from an objective point of view and are much cognizant about capricious market conditions. "Job should be given who are already good at it, then who might be better at it" following this idea hiring outside consultants have long been a salubrious process for a firm which can be exemplified through following instances.

Taking a current paragon of consultation in India, Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) is the largest consultancy firm as well as it was the most valued firm for many years. TCS has been helping not only the indian private sector but also public sector corporations for fluent operations. There are numerous instances where TCS has helped companies operated by the Government of India to take decisions on a tax increase, price hikes of crude oils and resource allocation to name a few. State Bank of India (SBI) has taken consultation from TCS to view and extrapolate their plans for maximum effectiveness. Most of the staff at TCS are engineers who are good at problem-solving. While most of the staff at SBI are good at banking, however, some problems require more than banking skills and that is where TCS comes in. Ability to view problems from a third person point of view to asses, analyze and recalibrate existing resources is what these consulting firms are better at than employees of the firm.

Another example we can state is from politics, President of the US has had many consultants and help from various adroit and erudite from respective departments outside the White House since the Presidency has been incumbent in the US. What is the need for The President to ask anyone about how to run the country or where should the troops go? Why did people elect their leader and commander in chief, if he is unsure about his own judgments? The is no simple answer to these questions, but even The President requires his notions to be viewed and reckoned by experts before sanctioning them. This intensifies the need for outside consultation.

Finally, taking the sentiments and help from the employees has been practiced by the firm for a long time. But there is so much 'noise' in the feedback from employees. The subjective nature of the voice of employees makes future actions clouded and prone to errors. For the same reason, Google has feedback forms first developed and implemented within the organization before coming out as Google Forms.

In essence, taking help from outside opens up the firm to scrutiny and vulnerability for sure, many times consultants might also lack the ability to completely asses the situation. Employees are a vital resource of the firm, it needs careful judgment before utilizing either of these for further actions.