All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Firstly, companies vary in size and thus, they take different approaches depending on their company's need. For example, a large company may have too many employees to conduct an internal process review. In this case, the need for a consultant may be best to efficiently cut through the red tape that often slows down progress towards efficiency. Similarly, a company may have multiple locations spread across the globe, and perhaps even speaking multiple languages. It will be difficylt for a company to pull efforts together, however, the need for a consultant who undertands the culture would be more suitable.

Secondly, the task needed to listen to employees may present problems instead of leading to efficiency. The unstated assumption is that employees are not part of the problem, and often they are. For example, it would be harder for an employee to view his/her work as inefficient, whereas an outside entity might apply standards for the specific industry to assess whether there may be room for efficency. Additionally, if the company culture is not in favor of openly expressed disagreements, it may cause employees to stay silent in order to keep their jobs, causing the problems to persist. Thus, the statements' claim of employers listening to their employees might not hold true because problems begin internaly in the first place.

Lastly, consultants often are specialized in handing the specific inefficiency that many face a company. They often have experienced professionals with a plothera of experience. A management consulting firm many help a company better that its internal counterparts, while a financial consulting group is better equipped to handle a specific inefficency that many stifle a company.

In conclusion, the position that a company listeing to its own employees many provide no need for a consultant yields itself to a number of critiques. These critiques help strengthen the need for companies to prefer outside consultants than employees in the goal to achieving higher efficiency.