All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Consultancy can be described as the process of offering expertise knowledge in a particular field of practice. This knowledge could be gotten or achieved through experience ranging through a number of years. Companies today could operate much more efficiently if they employ such services.

Firstly, consultants have seen it and done it all. Consultants have vast experience working with a myriad of companies to help them scale up and operate much more efficiently. For whichever line of practice, they know which processes and methods produce better results. This could be gotten from years of research into those business areas and practices which have proved successful over the years or simply by experience which involves applying different methods to businesses and observing which help the business operate better and smoothly.

To a certain extent, companies listening to their employees could be advantageous. This is because, given the business area or practice, employees have first hand impact of good or bad business models. They could also have insights by interacting with clients and customers and such feedback could be relayed back to the appropriate channels. The flip side to this is that employees could make recommendations which could not solely be objective or beneficial to the business but in a bid to make tasks easier for themselves. A situation such as in IT solutions provision, an employee in his bid to not have to learn an entirely different technology to what he/she is used to, might relay to his superior that the clients are very happy with a particular technology, when in fact it would be more beneficial to the client to use a different technology.Whereas, the sole aim for a consultant, is to provide genuine insights which will be cost effective and make the business more efficient.

Ultimately, consultants are judged by antecedents, success stories etc. Coupled with experience of working with companies in similar business areas, this puts them in a better position to offer great advice to companies meaning to operate more efficiently.