All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

All the Employees of the Company are sole responsible for the fate of the company. Whether a company progresses or not depends on the prime decision takers to the lowest grade employees. I to some extent believe that hiring an consultant to suggest ways for the company to operate efficiently would be necessary in certain situations.

If a company is continuously lacking in achieving its goals and constantly falling in the market. It becomes necessary to hire a consultant, who is an expert in the particular field, which can analyze the situation of the company, the lackings where push is necessary. He can analyse from his experience what are the causes for such failures and what necessary steps should be taken. When such a consultant is hired it is the pre-assumption that company has tried also the necessary steps it can take and still has not been able to recover fro the failures. This may include discussing the issues with the employees first and still failing to achieve the goals. In this scenario it becomes necessary to look at the problem or crises with another perspective, at another angle to find the solution for the same.

Additionally, since the consultant is an expert in this field and has huge experiences in solving various problems it can be very benificary for the company in the time of crises. Also the consultant will only provide the suggestion to the problem.Thus decision, whether to implement a particular solution or not lies in the hand of decision makers of the company. Thus it provides an alternate perspective to the problem and it is not at all harmful. Also decision makers can take the decision on given solution by the consultant by discussing with the employee to even get a clear and solid idea.

However, it can be argued that if consultant is directly consulted without discussing with the employee, it may have negative effects. Since consultant is having limited amount of time to analyse the problem, it may be possible that his solution and analysis may be inaccurate than the employees who are serving for the company for longer time and working in the same environment. Also the fees of consultant may be too costly to afford. And although paying huge money, there is no gaurantee for the solution. Also since employees are connected with the company, any wrong decision by the consultant without discussing with the employees may harm the intrests of the employees. Thus it becomes necessary to take the opinion of the employees first before approaching the consultant. It can be understood from the example that Although farmers are having wide knowledge about farming and the native area. However, if he fails to achieve significant futile results then it becomes necessary to perform analysis by an technological expert. Thus, expert can analyze the conditions and provide technological solution necessary for the production.

Thus, Although there are various benifiets in taking advice of a consultant and it provides no harm as ultimate decision lies with the company. But since employees are the essential and core part of the company , they should be involved in taking each and every decision of the company.