All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Companies hire outside consultant to perform the job more efficiently however if they listen to their own employees such consultant would not necessary. I partially agree with the statement as it depends on the situation to hire a consultant or not.

Office is a place where employee are supposed to show case their expertise not a place where you come to learn.In office you need to work efficiently on the skills you already have. Like in banking project, a client has asked to develop an application for them. In this project there might be a new requirement where you need to have knowledge of technical language like SQL. However the employee working on the project does not have complete knowledge of the subject. Now rather than wasting time in learning the subject for scratch, company can hire a consultant who already has the domain knowledge of SQL.

Hiring a consultant would save the time of the employee and he can rather be more productive in building up another project.This will in return be beneficial for the company as they will not lose out on new projects.

Consultant are usually hired for a particular span of time.They are not given the benefit of provident funds and medical funds as they are not the permanent employee of the organisation. This will save the organization funds.

Although you can always hire a consultant but in case the company has a project where they have ample of time to complete the project. It would be feasible if they let the employee of their own company do the project and not hire a consultant.As it will increase the knowledge of the employee and he can later contribute this knowledge in other projects too and there will be no need to hire consultant in future. An employee of the company will be able to grasp and learn faster as he already has knowledge of the requirement.

Giving time to the employee to learn a technology will help the finances of the company as they wont have to spend on hiring a consultant as hiring requires a lot of manpower and money. We first have to pay the hiring team then we need to pay to the consultant.

The statement cannot be completely denied. It depends on the situation that a consultant should be hired or not to benefit the organization.