All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Companies hire consultants when they need them to help bring a new perspective to a company's current problems with business goals like efficiency. Consultants come from an outside firm, where they are trained to analyze efficiency of businesses, and can be brought in to make big change at a company. Although consultants are often not popular because they often have to make tough decisions when it comes to a company's operations, they are necessary because they have the experience and training to analyze efficiency, and they have an outside view of the company that cannot be achieved by merely working with a company's own employees.

Consultants are trained to analyze efficiency. The process for becoming a management or strategic consultant is quite rigorous, and very few of the applicants end up being able to pursue careers in consulting. The people who do become consultants are often from some of the best universities in the country. They are then trained specifically to work on efficiency problems of a business. Although listening to a company's own employees might sound like a sensible idea, most of those employees' jobs are not to analyze the efficiency of the company. They do not have training in analyzing that specific type of problem, and often, they aren't necessarily thinking in that mindset. Most employees do not have the overall view of the company that the consultants do, and without the training and focus that consultants have on efficiency, employees are unable to help the company in the same way consultants can.

Secondly, consultants have experience doing this before. As mentioned previously, very few employees at a business have a job description that involves analyzing the overall efficiency of a business, and it is even less likely that any of them have done so before. Consultants bring a wealth of experience to the table. They have likely analyzed similar problems at other companies, and are able to bring the most successful solutions from those companies into any new project that they work on. Consultants work with many different businesses, and can easily compare and learn from issues they have experienced with different companies, often even being able to compare across different industries, which employees at one business may not have any familiarity with.

Lastly, consultants are necessary because they have an outside view of the entire company. Employees have value in discussions of effiency because they have an inside view that consultants cannot see in the short period of time that they work with a singular company. Employee input is important, but consultants are also vital because they are able to see the business from a broader, outside view. Consultants are able to face harsh realities of the company's needs for efficiency which employees on the inside may not be able to do because of personal attachments to the company. Consultants often have to make tough calls like firing people or massively changing the structure of a company, which employees on the inside are less likely to do.

Consultants and inside employees of a business are both important to analyzing and improving a company's efficiency. Leaders of the company likely begin with trying to maximize efficiency by working with their own employees, however, when that fails, they turn to consultants. Consultants are necessary in addition to the company's existing employees because they are trained specifically to analyze effieiency, they have the experience with dealing with these issues before, and they have an outsider's view, where they are able to make tough decisions to help maximize a company's efficiency.