All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary

I agree to the statement.

Companies hire both lateral employees and also graduates fresh from college through on-campus hiring programmes. Firstly, I will talk about just graduate employees hired from on-campus.

Company provides training to fresh graduates employees and prepare them for industry standard before they are made permanent employees. Company invests resources, time, study materials, instructors in providing best training to freshers. They undergo rigorous training to get into IT industry mainstream. These employees spend lot of time in studying, absorbing training material, completing assignments and to become permanent employees in company. Since they are just out of college they are fresh with academic taught in the college, hence they can learn better from training and also invest time to study more and master further. They are also willing to learn more technologies and struggle harder. Since, they are new and not exposed to IT industry, companies can tune freshers to understand company operations and standards to work more efficiently. Though freshers lack IT knowledge and company working style they are innovative and they can provide fresh ideas to work more efficiently. They can provide out of box ideas which might turn out to be useful. Since companies invest heavily on fresh graduates employees to train them, I feel company should confidently listen to and address concerns of these employees to take most out of them. This make employees to stay in company longer and thereby training given by company does not go waste.

Secondly, I would like to talk about lateral or experienced employees. These are employees hired from a different companies. Company invests resources in hiring them, by going through their resumes, conducting multiple round of interviews, selecting them and offering job to them. These are the employees who have worked with other companies before and they are exposed to different work environment and challenges. They may or may not be given training by their previous employers. These employees are new, they can provide more ideas based on their previous work experience. I strongly feel, companies should listen to these employees as their ideas might prove useful and they can help operate company more efficiently.

But there will be a times when company is in need of more efficient and more experienced employee for a particular project work, in this situation instead of hiring a new employee, company can hire a consultant to work for project timeline. This is based on situation.

Thus, for a proper company functioning company should listen to employees. This ensures employee satisfaction and they try to given in their best and work hard for company. This also saves company resources being spend for consultants.