All too often companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The main or foremost reason for hiring outside consultants by any company is to bring in expert and meaningful insights in solving their business and technical problems. Now, small or fairly large companies, most of which operate in a very specific and niche domain, say chip design, will face myriad problems in various facets of technical and business world. Even though the employees can handle some of the problems in the technical side, there will always be a need for outside consultants to bring about a complete solution to the problems.

Most of the world’s biggest consulting firm’s employees have years and years of experience and expertise to solve a particular problem in their corresponding domains, whether technical, business or financial etc. Over many years, these people handled such problems across diverse companies and firms, and are equipped with visionary and out-of-box ideas to tackle any such problems arising even today. In contrast, most companies and firms are set up to serve a particular technical or financial area, and accordingly they recruit fresh graduates or people who have some years of experience working in that domain. This doesn’t necessarily mean the people who joined the company will automatically have the ability to solve every problem arising out of their work, mainly because it falls outside of their expertise. For example, Microsoft is inherently a software company, even though it has expanded their businesses in other avenues recently. Today’s computers, laptops, mobile phones require extensive software hardware integration for smooth performance. Thus Microsoft, while designing a particular software, must consult the hardware giants such as Intel, Qualcomm, and AMD to facilitate smooth integration of their software with the contemporary gadgets. The people at these companies have years of experience designing hardware, and can provide a long term solution for Microsoft, helping them to design more and more softwares and increase their revenue. These kind of outside consultancy will benefit the company in long run, mainly because of increase in the value of their product in the market.

However, it is not entirely wise to depend on outside consultancy to tackle every other problem that arises out of the blue. Consulting other companies results in huge financial burden and can only be advisable if the return of investment of the product can cover up the expenses. We have to keep in mind that employees within the company can also bring about diverse viewpoints and potential solutions to such problems. The management thus needs to consult their own employees and check the feasibility of their approach, before going for outside consultants. Moreover, this can surmount to huge savings on the company’s part, as outside consultancy is expensive. Allowing the employees to handle some of these problems also increases their quality, ability to perform and handle multiple tasks, which will tantamount to a rich employee base.

To summarize, we can say that the management may decide to hire outside consultants for crucial problems that involves huge risks and money, but for every other small trivial problems that a firm faces in everyday operation, the employees should be given a chance to come up with innovative solutions, which might save the company a lot of money and enrich their capabilities to tackle unknown problems outside their comfort zone.