All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Every company, even the most successful one, needs to continually develop, increase efficiency and eschew stagnation which might be deleterious to the company as a whole. Companies take different paths towards development; some tackle all issues intimately within the company, while others prefer to have a third party involved. Whether or not it is reasonable to hire outside consultants can become a topic of discussion and even argument.

Some people believe that company’s employees are most knowledgeable about their internal issues, obstacles, strengths and weaknesses and thus they are the best people to form the most efficient path of development to the company. These employees dedicate their time, energy and effort to the success of the company so their individual interests are completely vested in making all operations as efficient as possible. In addition, they are the only ones who know the esoteric details of the company that might be important in decision making process but will be abstruse to the third party.

For many employees, it might be uncomfortable to have a stranger become too involved with the matters of the company that might include their professional and personal information as well. For some, it might also be a matter of pride – why would the company have to hire someone else, when we already have so many intelligent, adroit people eager to contribute to the success of the company?

Hiring outside consultants is also connected to extra cost, which might not seem reasonable to everyone, especially on certain stages of the company’s development when every dollar is decisive to the future of the company and its employees. Paying extra money for something that can equally well, if not better, done by already extant resources might seem irrational at the very least.

However, in certain cases the extra cost of outside consultants can be justified by the numerous benefits they can bring. Outside consultants are disinterested party whose interests are not vested in anything but doing their job. While it might seem counter-intuitive, being subjective while making decisions on how to increase efficiency and how to choose the right path for the company, is beneficial. Employees have their opinions swayed by personal relationships at work and their future plans in the company, while outside consultants make completely (or almost completely) rational decisions.

In addition, outside consultants are experienced in solving similar issues for numerous other companies. They bring examples to learn from, experience to build on and a strong material to form individual path for a certain company. They are professionals in solving other’s issues just as any employee in the company is professional in his/her own field of expertise.

It would not be reasonable to entirely land the company’s faith into strangers’ hands, but a professional third opinion is never surfeit. Outside consultants should work closely with the employees of the company to learn all the intricate details that might help them envision the best path towards efficiency and development. Underscoring consultants’ importance and relying on employees solely might not be the best decision a company can make.

As an Israeli diplomat and politician Abba Eban once said “A consensus means that everyone agrees to say collectively what no one believes individually”. It is not necessary to have a consensus on every topic, but it’s important to compromise and see the second side of the medal. Those who criticize companies for wasting resources on outside consultants should give credit to the benefits they bring, while companies who hire outside consultants should understand that employees still play a significant role in the future of the company.