All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I completely agree with these statements. I strongly believe that if companies allotted time to receive feedback directly from their employees, then not only would they get the most first-hand responses, they would also be saving money. Granted, sometimes hiring a professional consultant who is well-versed in such matters might be a great strategy, so also is being attentive to employees who are literally dedicated to creating an efficient and productive work environment.

An employee, for example, who has been working for Company X for 12 years would have gathered so much intel, experience, and knowledge of the inner workings of the company in a way that a consultant who has been at Company X for 5 days does not know. That employee has had more experiences under the management to know where they lack and where they can improve upon and if listened to, they have the ability to make a positive impact on the company. One may disagree with this point stating that if said employee has all this information, they may not want to discuss it with executives because they fear that they may lose their jobs or be despised by coworkers and seen as obnoxious. Although this is a strong argument, I believe that if the company is willing to listen rather than take offence at what the employee suggests, then they will be better off.

Also, just as a group member in a college project can easily point out which other member of the group is very active in research and solving problems versus another who is so lazy and never does any work, so also will an employee be able to instantly identify the inefficient workers. He has had time to build work relationships with his coworkers and he may know where the inefficiency might be originating from, so, rather than higher a consultant, i think it would be better to hold a forum where employees can freely speak.