All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Human resource of a company is the one living its vision and driving its principles and so has a very clear understanding of how things work. This understanding helps them identify flaws in the everyday functioning and in turn find intrinsic ways to fix them. Each employee has an onus to work towards making the company and its functioning smooth for productive outcomes. However, these modifications are a means to and end and not standardized in anyway. This is where the company requires an expert to study, identify and propose ideas to fix flaws, if any, in the workings of the company.

Consultants are industry experts astute in the working of organisations with various models. Financial consultants for instance showcase a thorough understanding of financial aspect of working of a company. They are hired by several firms to study their business model and propose ways to increase revenue and in turn their profit. Many companies prefer hiring consultants for the purpose of studying their functional efficacy for various reasons. One the major reasons is the industry knowledge and fresh perspective the consultants apply to study the given model. Being free from bias, having perused many other successful business models, being in the know-how of best kept industry secrets are few of the many advantages that a consultant brings on board to a study of company standards. This not only helps in detailed study of existing operations model but also in identify its competence with the recent industry developments.

In addition to using their own knowledge, the consultants work closely with select group of individuals from the host organisation. These individuals form a group of people with personal experience with the everyday working of the company. By interviewing and having a detailed dialogue with the people in the organisation, these consultants get a clear picture of how the big rules/policies are translated to day-to-day activities. This analysis gives an unbiased view of efficiency of the policies and hence is easily comparable to 'other' or 'overall' industry standards.

While it is true that hiring a new or unrelated person to identify and correct the flawed policies may result in some people thinking that it is impersonal and hence the results will not be effective. Using a person from within the organisation not only adds extra burden in terms of work hours for the selected person but also give out work of substandard quality. Since people working for the organisation come with heavily informed ideas about the flaws, their proposal might be considered biased.

In conclusion, a study done with thorough expertise will be much better in quality as a result of well-read and knowledgeable people that are involved as opposed to people with experience of whats not working. Consultants help the company achieve their goals.