All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I disagree with the given notion that the hiring of outside consultants would be unnecessary if companies spent more time listening to their own employees.

Outside consultants are hired by many different companies and, with this vast amount of exposure to different scenarios, they gain a lot of insight as to how different companies operate and what changes will cause a positive effect on the workings of the company. This acumen and insight may not be available to the people currently running the company, and thus they may not be able to improve the efficiency of their company on their own.

There may be problems in the operation of the company that may not be apparent to the company employees and, if such is the case, their opinions will not convey any useful information. Thus, spending more time listening to the employees would just be a waste of time in such a situation. But outside consultants may be able to identify the problem and solve it.

Usually, different employees will have different opinions and many of these opinions may not be effective in increasing the efficiency of the company. These outside consultants, having sorted through many such opinions throughout its different endeavors at different companies, will be better in judging which opinions are noteworthy and which should be discarded. Also, opinions from employees may help to identify the problem but the company has to take actions to solve that problem. Consultancy firms, having dealt with similar problems in the past, will be able to suggest the most optimal solution to the problem.

Employees may be reluctant to comment on what problem the organization has. And, eliciting responses from the employees will be much easier for the consultancy firm who has dealt with many employees from different companies in the past.

Thus, I believe hiring outside consultants has its merits and spending more time listening to their own employees is not a viable alternative to hiring an outside consultant for a company running inefficiently.