All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The statement claims that to work efficiently companies should listen to there employees more often rather than spending money on hiring consultants from outside. It also claims that if companies were to spend more times to listening there employees then such consultant would be unnecessary. Though this statement seems logical at first glance, if we are considering the complexity and competetiveness of the current world such consultant is necessity. There more than enough reasons to support this claim.

As we can see, today's market is constantly changing due to its inherent cosmopolitan and multi-national nature. It's not a cakewalk to study the patterns observed in this markets and predict the outcome. The experts spend there most of the time studying the behavior of the market, the novel technologies available for the better of the companies and many other things. Its not necessary that such in depth knowledge of market can be gained from spending more time listening to employees. Rather it is requirement that one should be updated with the current development in

the relevant market from outside the company.

Another important reason that can be attributed to the outside consultancy is disinterested vision. It is often possible that the management of the company has prejudice about some issue and it will be better to have some neutral, some one who can think with unbiased vision to see the whole spectrum. This often keeps the personal benefits of the employees of the companies from interfering with the company policies. The famous example that can be given is NASA asked famous scientist Richard Feynman to invistigate the Challenger Space shuttle failure. The physicist provided the much neede neutral view and experties needed for the investigation and conclusion was drawn.

At same time it is also true that companies should listen to there employees. Hiring of the expert is just one step in making the policies.