Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.Write a response in which you discuss the

Internet and computers an innovation of the 20th century is often considered equivalent to electricity an innovation of 19th century. Both the things had an a huge impact over the lifestyle of people and had dared to change and hence both were faced with opposition and reluctance. History is said to repeat itself and by seeing the adaption of electricity with today's life style it is quite clear that soon internet will be incorporated in a similar fashion. It was because of electricity that air-conditioner, oven, light etc came into existence and internet has been going on a similar path. One of the major change that had came because of the internet, videos and computer is the online way of learning things. Although many consider that it won't be able to replace the conventional way of learning as a lot of distraction are present with it, I believe that the online learning with time will be embraced and people will learn to avoid the irrelevant and time consuming items.

Salman Khan, an MIT graduate student was asked to make her niece study high school level mathematics. The only problem that seemed to arise was Mr. Khan and her niece used to stay in two different cities. Mr. Khan used to travel from his city to her niece's city on weekend and that is how the task went. However there were scenarios when Mr. Khan couldn't travel and hence he used to make videos of the things which he was going to make her study and send it to her. This became an idea of a very big website today popularly known as the khanacademy.com . The most basic benefit of online learning over conventional learning is it kills the problem of distances. There have been many third world countries who do not have infrastructure or relevant faculty to make them study. The developing nation here are benefited by the developed nation hence making the world a global village.

Videos does consist of advertisement which sometimes diverts the mind of the learner. Advertisement is said to be an art. An art of convincing people, to spend money which they do not have for something that do not need. However, if advertisement wouldn't be there the cost of videos would be high enough making it difficult for the larger part of the world to access. Also, there are softwares which do block advertisements thus saving our time. Other distraction are social-networking websites, where people knowingly or unknowingly get hooked. But, this is something that the user should understand is a total unnecessity . When we are getting to learn from the world's most renowned instructors and getting to learn the cutting edge technologies it becomes our responsibility to avoid the vicious circle of social network and concentrate on what is important.

Although, getting educated on internet has various benefit such as exposure to pace of learning, practicality, novelty, different point of view learning however many emotions are driven by staying physically present only. In a classroom type learning each and student does get attention of the teacher although not always, however this is totally missing in the e-learning. Also, interaction with colleagues and having a healthy competition with them enhances the mind and the speed of learning. Finally, as most of the schools and university have many type electronic gadget such as phone prohibited at their place the level of distraction is zero. But, many a times we have seen that a child might be physically present but mentally absent. During the lecture he or she might go to sleep, or talk and do mischiefs with his or her batchmates. Hence the level of distraction over here is par with that of the online learning.

With the advance in technology, ideas change, perception change, way of doing things also change. There are enormous websites such as KhanAcademy, Udemy, Udacity, NPTEL etc where we could learn and by adding the software which blocks the advertisements the level of distraction also could be decreased. The taste of learning things vary from person to person and there is no one solution to the problem. However according to me we should embrace the upcoming model of learning, differentiate the relevant things from the irrelevant things on the internet and detest going to the time wasting products.