Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The old teaching way, a teacher explaining the thick textbook in the classroom, with chalks in his hand waiting to be used for some blackboard writing, seems to be a thing of the past. Nowadays, with the development of technology, the way of teaching and studying has changed quite a lot. many new inventions, such as computers, ipads, are being used in classroom. but are they beneficial to students’ studying? Or will they be a distraction for them? while the prompt states such change will distract students from real learning, I mostly disagree with this idea and will argue that new technologies will be much helpful for studying if they are used in a proper way.

Firstly, such new technologies much facilitate our study. students now do not need to take those heavy textbooks to school. In the past, their schoolbags are filled with such heavy book, and in order to cover the whole-day’s lessons, not only one book is needed. today, with the help of E-textbook, all a student need to take is a light ipad or something else. this much alleviate the burden of their schoolbag. besides, while the paper-book can only provide texts and pictures as its content, e-textbooks have much more alternatives, such as a record, a flash video, or a movie on the pertaining topic. this form is much helpful for a student to understand a certain concept, therefore improve the effect of teaching.

Secondly, the use of internet in classrooms widen the material of teaching. In the past, students most received the knowledge from their teacher, but today, they can also learn from the internet. beside the rich entertainment contents on the internet, there are also many valuable studying materials. For example, Crash Course, a widely subscribed channel on Youtube, founded by Green Brothers in 2012, is a very helpful material for those who are new to a field. Their videos, covered a wide range from science like biology, physics, and chemistry, to humanities as history, literature and philosophy. students can use them to self-educate themselves, such materials also can be helpful to teachers in classrooms. In view of this, the internet actually widen the traditional definition of ’teaching’.

some may worry about such technologies may distract students from learning, to some extent, this is a possible question. After all, there are so many tempts on the internet. but, such can be much prevented if the technology is used properly. For instance, parents can use the shielding function to prevent children watching other websites, or there can be a teacher supervising when students are using these materials. In this case, the distraction of these technologies can be reduced to the least.

In conclusion, with a proper use of such new technologies, the quality of education will not be damaged but promoted as a result. We are now living in a high-tech society, it is the time our teaching way also catches up with the new age of internet.