Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

As a team, a leader respecting his or her peers is more crucial than making moral judgment for the team. A leader needs to maintain the respect of his or her peers because they can work together to form good decisions and there will be less of a chance for the leader to gain respect for himself or herself.

A leader's respect for his members is crucial in regarding to forming good decisions with each other. With respect, the members will be more comfortable and respect the leader themselves. If the leader and the members respect each other, they can create decisions such as making decisions for the team without causing any tension or apprehension within them. Also, there is less of a chance for the leader to be well-liked. If the leader had no respect, the chance of him becoming disliked is increased since the leader can feel like he or she has power to control them, making the peers feel anxious, angry, or belittled. The team can also have poor relationships with the leader since the leader has no respect for them.

Although respect is crucial, sound moral judgment can also be just as important. Sound moral judgment can enable the leader to make the right decisions for themselves and for others. The leader can discuss about what is right and wrong with the members to make them feel safe and morally correct.

In conclusion, the leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers are greater than sound moral judgment. Without respect, the leader and members will have bad relationships with each other, making the team not blossom, leading to disband.