Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The leader of an organization is the one who brings the whole organization together. It is important for the leader to maintain the respect of his or her peers, but lacking sound moral judgment will only bring about major problems for the organization in the long term. I believe that having a sound moral judgment should take precedence over the leader being able to maintain the respect of his or her peers for the two reasons discussed below.

The leader of an organization is required to make good judgments on a day to day basis and the members of his organization are required to respect his decisions. Now, if the members of the organization lack trust in their leader, it not only makes it more difficult for them to abide by his decisions but also decreases their efficiency dramatically. Hence one could say that gaining the respect and trust of his or her colleagues should be of primary to a leader. But it shouldn't come at the cost of lacking sound moral judgment, because this would only lead the initially trusting and respectful colleagues to lose their trust over time.

On the other hand, consider a leader who has sound moral judgment but lacks the trust of his peers, to begin with. He will not produce good results initially as his peers doubt his decisions and are not willing to work in the direction he suggests. But eventually, people will start to notice his capability and start trusting him more. In the long term, he will be able to build a trusting and respectful environment where everyone can give their best.

One might say that if the leader lacks his peers' trust the organization will most likely fall apart even before he has a chance to gain their trust. But that is not generally true in practice. A good leader has to have sound judgment and he will eventually gain the trust of his employees.