Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems

Society's problems are very broad in range. Even so, I believe that science and technology might be able to solve most of society's problems for the following two reasons.

Major conflicts in society arise emerge from individuals' need for resources. For example, consider two villages where people's primary occupation agriculture. There exists a river flows from one village to another which is the primary source of water for both the villages. Now, if the first village uses up most of the water, the second village will face serious problems due to the lack of water. This will eventually result in major conflicts between the villages. Now, let's say with the help of science and technology we created a hybrid version of the plant grown in either of the villages, which requires minimal water to survive. Now there is sufficient water for both the villages and conflicts will soon be resolved. A similar argument can be made for most of the conflicts that arise from competition for resources. The history is full of wars where the strong conquer and plunder the weak to satisfy their own needs. But now, if with the help of science we are able to cater to the needs of everyone, the to conquer itself dies.

One might argue that there are many social issues that cannot be addressed by science and technology, like gender inequality. It is true that science and technology do not directly address these problems. But science and technology have enabled us with unprecedented capability for communication, as a result increasing the outreach of the people who wish to solve these problems. Feminism is at its best today, the idea has been spread to all corners of the world and change is evidenced at a rate never seen before. Part of the success in tackling such social problems can be attributed to science and technology.

Science may not be able to all of society's problems but it surely plays the role of the catalyst in most situations. Hence, it is not far-fetched to claim that science and technology can solve all of society's problems.