Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leaders are the bedrock of any organisation that they form a part of. They embody the essential characteristics of effective moral judgement and strive to treat their contemporaries with respect. Both the preceeding qualities are equally important for an inspiring and efficient leader. Therefore, I do not agree with the fact that possessing sound moral judgement triumphs the quality of respecting one's peers.

I treat both of the above qualities to be equal in priority.

A leader has to take quick and crucial decisions at multiple times. These decisions have a lot on stake for everyone involved in the organisation. A favorable outcome from these decisions depends on the ability of the leader to take correct moral steps. Without it, hasty decisions would be taken which in turn render the leader ineffective. For instance, a leader of a big multi-national company that manufactures medicines is notified that their highest selling drug has some possibly detrimental chemical anomalies. If he chooses to ignore this piece of information and continues to sell the drug publicly, he is putting the public and the company at risk. He is an ineffective leader due to lack of proper moral judgement.

It is equally imperative for a leader to envoke a sense of respect from his peers. This feeling of respect has to be mutual. The success of the organisation will depend on the performance of its employees. This is turn will be dictated to a large extent by the ability of the employees to execute the plans set out by the leader. In a case where the leader does not respect his peers, they would reciprocate his disrespect. This would hamper the intention of the peers to execute the plans laid out by the leader. No matter how good the plans set out by the leader are, if the employees do not execute them earnestly, the organisation is bound to fail. A lack of respect from the leader towards his peers will inevitably lead to a complete failure. An instance of this is a currently lean but growing organisation, like a startup. Everyone in the organisation is relatively new and the leader is unfriendly with his peers. He does not respect the opinions of his colleagues. Due to this, they stop suggesting new creative ideas to the leader. This hampers the growth of the company and is a sign of a failing leadership.

It requires both a decisive and a tolerant leader for an organisation to be effective. If any one of the two is absent, the work of the leader, the employees and the organisation would be tarnished.