Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Undergraduate students should be made to take to take courses in the Humanities. A more varied education creates a more well varied individual. It could actually help the students be better workers once they graduate.

A well-rounded education creates a well-rounded person. Attending university may primarily be about learning an advanced skill, that is not all it is about. After finishing college life is not only about your career, and work is not entirely about all the technical information one absorbed in college. The old saying "Variety is the spice of life" is an accurate statement. These courses could help students find a new passion or hobby, such as a passion for cinema, writing, or photography. This would also make students interact with other students outside of their major and could help them make new friends or help expand their world view.

One could argue that forcing students to take humanity courses could actually be a boon for the students and give them a leg up on those have not had as much exposure to other parts of life. For instance, a computer programmer who is more effectively able to communicate how his code works to his team because he has to take public speaking courses in college, or perhaps a young business analyst who having taken some Asian history courses in her undergrad understands the culture enough to come up with a novel new way to increase market share in certain eastern markets. Even if they may not think it is valuable at the time they are taking it, it may very well be one of the more valuable skills they learn.

Universities should however be careful to not force students to take too many varied courses. This could cause students to become jaded and begin to resent courses they feel they are forced to take. One could also argue that by making them take humanities, we are forcing them to stay in school longer, rather than be out in the work force.

Universities should make students take humanity courses outside their normal area of study. While it may delay graduation a minute amount, the value these course could instill is invaluable. They could teach students a new subject they didn't know they were passionate about, help them see the world from different point of views, and may help them do better at their job.