In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The progress of any field like business,education or politics is possible because of the practices they implement. These new innovative ways they follow for the development of their fields are decided by those who are in power at that instance of time. Here the claim suggests that those in power must step down after five years. I accept this statement up to a certain extent.

Let us consider in politics we had the same president and members of the house for the entire time. The ruling would become monotonous and they would not care about thinking about the new policies all the time as their power is safe irrespective of their efforts. Thus causing a hindrance towards development. However if we assume the power changed after every five years the leaders would be more vigilant to take useful steps for their denizens. Adding to that they might perform better because they would have to compete against their antagonist party.

For suppose if we take business into consideration the same idea of stepping down after every five years would not be effective. In general a business is started by a group of people who invest their time and energy to make it the best. Only they would understand this business better than anyone else as they have been with it from the beginning. So if they give their power to someone else after five years the business will not move towards progress as it takes time for the new person to understand the demographics of the business and take correct steps.

A field would progress if the power was given to different people after a tenure and in some other cases it would progress if it had a constant leader, it all depends on the field and how it works.