In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

The argument states that the beginner is more likely to contribute in a field than an expert. But an expert has years of experience and has gained in-depth knowledge of the governing dynamics of the field. In a way, an expert has an upper hand over the beginner and thus, it is not likely that a beginner will contribute more than an expert.

Experts have thorough knowledge and experience and have an upper hand in governing the dynamics of the field. For instance, an established and expert nuclear physicist might have beforehand knowledge of precautions and what could go wrong in performing any experiment and could contribute well in ensuring the safety of the personnel accompanying him, whereas a beginner might not be able to see through the same.

Experts are more likely to contribute the field as they have experience and knowledge and they can guide the beginner in the right direction in order to be productive and innovative. For instance, when Einstein was struggling to get his ideas noticed in the scientific world, it was Plank, who at that time was expert physicist, guided him and gave him the requisite opportunities in the scientific community. He may not have helped him intellectually but he definitely had guided him in the right direction.

However, beginners are mostly younger than expert fraternity and are energetic. They are more likely to address the problems with enthusiasm and avid than an expert. Though they lack experience and thorough knowledge but they are more willingly to push themselves and to make a mark in the field. The probability of contributing might be in their favour or might be not but the ardor and dedication usually pays off and they themselves become the expert.

In a nutshell, an expert has a better chances of contributing in a field than a tyro or dilettante due to accrual of in-depth knowledge and experience that might come handy while doing any task, experiment, work, etc. The beginner usually becomes expert when they start contributing in the field.