Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The greatest leaders that have walked this earth are those that have been able to visualize the future and galvanise others to achieve the dream. The prompt above states that leaders who lack a predetermined goal will achieve little. To put it succinctly predetermined goals are the bedrock of good leadership. I will defend my position in the following two paragraphs.

Vision is the most important attribute of a leader, great leaders who have left their footprints in the sand of time and brought home the bacon are men who were able to visualize the future several years ahead and sell this future to their followers. A banal example of a great leader in Africa is Nelson Mandela, he saw the future of South Africa as one free from Apartheid and was unwavering in his belief. Deep seated convictions and a resilience that never vacillates are an important cornerstone of every successful endeavor. This is obvious because every route to success is filled with twists and turns and vissicitudes that can make a man lose faith. Nevertheless a man with sturdy determination will be able to weather the storm and arrive at the preconceived destination.

Furthermore, how can aleader who concerns himself with something as fickle as public opinion achieve great things? Public opinion is shaped by the capricious desires of human and sometimes even selfish desires of a rather elite group. For several decades since the days of the French aristocracy the rich have held sway of what people hear and hold true. It is therefore important that a leader who aims to leave his mark double down on what is most important to him and will bring the most benefit to his people both now and from a longer term perspective.

Leaders always have to make tough choices and step on the toes of even thos who were instrumental in their rise to stardom. How can a leader who is concerned about what people think function let alone solve those quandaries so common in leadership? A good example can be seen in the Nigerian government where a seating Governor Udom Emmanuel was brought in by the immediate past governor, the past governor held the peoples heart and still wanted to be involved in decision making process in the state. The seating governor had to tell him off and this tough decision was seen as invidious by some followers but after a while they reaslised it was for the best and they all fell in line. A leader must be able to stand his ground even when his predecessors and mentors are the people o the other side iof the divide.

Most people may argue that leaders who don’t listen to public opinion are despots, however listening to the voice of the people is not the same as being swayed by capricious demands of the people.

In conclusion being a good leader requires sturdiness and a strong will to double down and achieve predetermined goals and objectives and being swayed easily will be detrimental.