A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Albert Einstein once said “if you judge a fish by how well it can swing from a tree you would conclude that essentially the fish is stupid and useless” - the prompt above essentially says that children should go through the same school system and study the same courses regardless of their interests for over ten years. I disagree with this paradigm and will delineate my three reasons succinctly below.

It is important to note that college degrees require different skill sets as some of them essentially prepare you for professional careers right away. For instance in Nigeria a student studies pharmacy as an undergraduate course and is required to have a background in the biological and physical sciences right off the bat. These essential foundations differ greatly from a student of economics who is required to have a corner stone of mathematics and economic principles as at the time of entering the University. It is evident that if these two students are forced to learn the same subjects throughout high school they would be ill equipped for their respective undergraduate programs.

Furthermore students develop interests in various subjects as they go through secondary school and as these interests grow they are able to pick careers as end goals and subjects which align with that end goal. It would be a waste of time and energy for a child who wants to become a doctor to spen time learning about the principles of financial accounting if he has no interest in it. This will lead to reduced enthusiasm from students and untimately reduce the efficiency of learning. It would however be good practice and favourable for a child to pick courses that mirror his interests as we do our best work when we enjoy the work we do, this is captured in the saying “find a job you love and you never have to work again”

False representations of childrens academic profiles could also result from making student do work they are not enthused by. This has a damaging effect on the student as it reduces his self esteem and makes him feel dumb when all the while he has just been taught the wrong subject and has subued his inner creativity. This can be seen in a lot in the African family, parents oftentimes because of their own selfish interest encourage children to pick courses they are not enthused by, these students end up performing badly and then are labelled as ‘unintelligent’ however when they are change subjects they perform a lot better and this boosts their self-esteem, makes them happier.

It can be argued that allowing students learn the same subjects will provide a level playing field for understanding and ranking student’s performances more easily however this claim holds no merit as no two students are the same and ranking of students is inherently bad for educational systems. It is clear that students would benefit more if they are able to pick courses they are interested in in high school as this prepares them better for undergraduate programs and ultimately makes them happier and more efficient.