Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The most-known of leaders throughout history are those who have had strong and dogged idealogies. These are the leaders who amass a huge number of followers for their cause and bring through revolutions. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompt that a leader who is influenced easily by shifts in popular opinion will not bring about much change due to two reasons.

A leader who is too quick to be influenced by public opinion will not have a fixed public following who are loyal to him/her. History shows that leaders with unchanging purposes and fixed opinions are the ones who gain the most following. These leaders use their pertinacious idealogies to convince people and make people change their allegiances. Such strong connection between the leader and the followers makes sure that the organizations qualms are heard and changes are brought about.

A leader who had no fixed opinions would be no better than a common man. If a leader were to be swayed by public opinion he/she would only lose the trust of the public since they may be going back on certain idealogies that they may have once supported. The public is also easily influenced by various factors like media, social circle, news etc. The leader who is swayed by public opinion would only be letting himself/herself be swayed by the factors that affect public opinion.

One may argue that a leader with extreme opinions could sway the public to support them in large numbers and influence law making in an inimical way but this is where the factors that affect public opinion such as media and social circles come in. If the actions are not corresponding to the well being of the public, surely the public would not support the idealogies. Hence, I feel that a leader without strong idealogies would not accomplish very much.