The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and
supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the
recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples
shape your position.
The recommendation presents a view that I would agree is successful most of the
time, but one that I cannot fully support due to the “all or nothing” impression it gives.
Certainly as an educator I agree fully that the best way to elicit positive response
from students is to make use of students’ positive energy and then encourage actions
that you would like to see repeated. It is human nature that we all want to be accepted
and achieve on some level, and when people in authority provide feedback that we have
done something well, the drive to repeat the action that was praised is bound to be
particularly strong.
This blanket statement would obviously pay dividends in situations in which a teacher
desires to have students repeat particular behaviors. For example, if an educator is
attempting to teach students proper classroom etiquette, it would be appropriate to
openly praise a student who raises his or her hand when wishing to speak or address the
class. In such cases, the teacher may also help shape positive behaviors by ignoring a
student who is trying to interject without approval from the teacher. In fact, the decision to
ignore students who are exhibiting inappropriate behaviors of this type could work very
well in this situation, as the stakes are not very high and the intended outcome can likely
be achieved by such a method. However, it is important to note here that this tactic would
only be effective in such a “low-stakes” situation, as when a student speaks without
raising her hand first. As we will discuss below, ignoring a student who hits another
student, or engages in more serious misbehaviors, would not be effective or prudent.
To expand on this point, it is important for teachers to be careful when working with
the second half of this statement, only ignoring negative actions that are not serious.
Take for instance a student who is misbehaving just by chatting with a fellow classmate. This student might not be presenting much of a problem and may be simply
seeking attention. Ignoring the student might, in fact, be the best solution. Now
assume the negative action is the improper administering of chemicals in a science
experiment or the bullying of a fellow student. To ignore these negative actions would
be absurd and negligent. Now you are allowing a problem to persist, one that could
potentially lead to much bigger and more dangerous issues. In a more serious
situation, addressing the negative actions quickly and properly could stop the problem
it in its tracks. It is for reasons like this that I do not advocate the idea that a teacher
can be successful by simply ignoring negative actions.
I do, however, greatly support the idea that the central focus of teaching should be
to build on and encourage positive actions. However, the author’s all-encompasing
statement leaves too many negative possibilities for the classroom. Perhaps a better
way to phrase this statement would be to say, “The best way to teach is to praise
positive actions and ignore negative ones that are not debilitating to class efficiency
or the safety of any individual”.
Thus, in the original statement, there are indeed some good intentions, and
there could be a lot of merit in adopting its basic principles. Data proves that
positive support can substantially increase motivation and desire in students and
contribute to positive achievements. In fact, most studies of teaching efficacy
indicate that praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones can create a
more stable and efficient classroom. It needs to be stressed, however, that this tool
is only effective at certain levels of misbehavior. As mentioned above, when the
behavior is precipitated by feelings of revenge, power or total self-worthlessness,
this methodology will likely not work. It is likely to be very successful, however,
when the drive behind the misbehavior is simple attention seeking. In many of
these instances, if the teacher demonstrates clearly that inappropriate behavior
does not result in the gaining of attention, students are more likely to seek attention
by behaving properly. Should the student choose this path, then the ignoring has
worked and when the positive behavior is exhibited, then the teacher can utilize the
first part of the theory and support or praise this behavior. Now it is much more
likely to be repeated. If the student does not choose this path and instead elects to
raise the actions to a higher level that presents a more serious issue, then ignorance
alone cannot work and other methods must be employed.
In conclusion, one can appreciate the credo expressed in this instance, but surely
we all can see the potential error of following it through to the extreme.