The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

Encouraging positive actions while blatantly ignoring negative actions will not go very far in ensuring a human turns out as a half-decent human being at the very least. If the negative actions are left unchecked, it will only lead to the person never educating themselves about the said action and they might never even realize that the action was wrong in the first place. In the light of this, I mostly disagree that the best way of education is through encouraging good behavior while not paying attention to bad ones for two reasons.

First, any teacher is supposed to be a guiding light to their student, be it a teacher at a university, a parent teaching their kid or whoever it may be. They are supposed to show the student the right and the wrong, not just the good aspects. If the method suggested in the prompt was to adopted, we may end up in a society filled with narcissists who think they can do no wrong at all. Let us take the example of training a puppy. While training a puppy for various actions like sit, stand or speak, we give the puppy a treat for doing the right action, thus encouraging to follow our command. If the puppy was to not follow our instructions, the treat will not be given and we might call the puppy a 'bad boy/girl' to emphasize that the puppy has done something bad. This further strengthens the concept that not following instructions is bad. Students can also be compared to puppies in a similar manner. They also need incentives to do the right thing and need to be chastised so that they will not do the wrong thing.

Second, students are in a phase of continual development, always looking around and eager to interact and learn. It is essential for parents to always monitor their children's activity since home is the first school of any child. At a certain age when children understand good and bad and moral values they have to be inculcated as to what is right and what is wrong and when to do something and when not to. These are very important in shaping the child as a person, who may occupy a position of power in the future. Thus it is essential to ensure a holistic process of developing the moral values of the kid.

I still concede that at a very young age, kindergarten, children need to be praised more than admonished, and by quite a bit, since that is an age where children do not have the cerebral capacity to understand or distinguish between right and wrong. But encouraging their good actions will ensure that they remember these actions and repeat them since it has incentive to it. But as they grow old, I feel that the level of rebuking should go up since through the teenage years, kids are the most naughty they can be and involve in quite a lot of malice, which has to be phased out of them, which cannot happen if their negative actions are blatantly ignored.