In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of views

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether we need discussions in order to develop. Some may say that the discussion is costly and typically slows down the adoption of beneficial policies or technologies. Nevertheless, if we don’t have a proper discussion, all controversies of the issue remain hidden or unaddressed until it is too late to resolve them without harsh consequences. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that we don’t need discussions for progressing and would argue that debating contrasting points of view is beneficial.

To begin with, any discussion helps to look deeper into its subject and spot critical points and problems at an early stage of a project. To be specific, consider the fall of the USSR. When the country split and newborn Russia tried to reinvent its economy’s structure, there were debates on how to redistribute government property. These debates were largely amongst experts and politicians and hardly involved common citizens of the country. In the end, the proposed privatization reform created huge inequality amongst citizen as people didn’t understand how it worked and were willing to sell their property right for very low prices. Given that the policymakers didn’t want this outcome, they admitted see that the policy failed. We can see from this example that crucial policy measures require huge public discussion amongst the wide audience and not only amongst experts with a specific worldview.

Furthermore, it is crucial for a discussion to introduce as many contrasting points of view as possible because the contrasts help to reveal a full spectrum of potential problems. For example, take the USA. The political system there consists of the two parties which represent the full spectrum of right and left views. While discussing any policy in the congress, the representation of both Democrats and Republicans makes sure that policymakers consider both distributional consequences of a reform and its implication for personal freedoms as well as simple costs and benefits. This contrasting allows for balancing opinions and seeing all the issues without overrepresenting one point of view.

However, one can reasonably argue that in some situations we need to act quickly and discussion may destroy the possibility to progress. One example of such situation can be a war. During a war, army should coordinate and make fast decisions to not lose people and territory. In such severe conditions, it seems beneficial to delegate decision-making to an authoritarian body, which doesn’t bother with discussion. However, most armies allow for discussions amongst generals before making crucial decisions as it was proven to be efficient through the long history of wars for the same reasons described above: discussion helps with identifying crucial problems in their full spectrum. So, we need discussions even in the critical situations.

Summing up, although it may be tempting to not discuss seemingly beneficial actions before implementing them for the sake of progress, we cannot disregard the value of discussion as it allows us to see hidden issues and resolve controversies at an early stage. Even in the extreme situations, we need to discuss contrasting views to make right decisions. In fact, democracy as an ultimate form of discussion is one of the most important drivers of human race development in recent decades.