Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic at hand raises a controversial issue of government funding of scientific research. Indisputably, any government should investigate potential benefits and downsides of the projects they invest in. However, it is extremely difficult to predict consequences of a research project at the early stage. Then, such a policy if not treated carefully may cut funding from many potentially valuable scientific projects, which is unlikely a desired outcome. Thus, I would argue that we shouldn’t take funding from the research projects that don’t have clear consequences without considering other factors.

To begin with, we cannot be sure about the consequences of any scientific project by definition because science deals with the unknown. The scientists may have some prediction of the result, but the outcome is typically different from what is anticipated, and this is normal in science. Thus, adopting such a criterion for funding research will result in almost all potential scientific projects losing their funding and shutting down. This is unlikely a desired consequence of this policy. Instead, we should focus on probabilistic criteria if we want to apply this policy and consider probabilities of potential outcomes of the research.

Furthermore, if we apply the recommendation of funding only scientific research with predictable consequences, we are likely to end up in the situation where the government finances only applied research with specific questions, such as finding a cure to an existing disease or developing a weapon. Fundamental research which dives into the basics of our world that implies dealing with the unknown the most will then be underinvested although it has the highest potential for valuable discoveries. For example, most of modern technologies comes from the fundamental research in physics which uncovered electricity and magnetism and allowed us to create computers. If the governments in the past didn’t fund that research properly, we wouldn’t have such a rapid development now.

However, one could admit that the proposed policy has its benefits, namely cutting expenses on the projects with questionable goals and outcomes. For example, in the second half of twentieth century, there was a big interest in extrasensory research. Many pseudo-sciences investigated paranormal abilities of people and gained government grants in countries like the USA or the USSR which wanted to use that research as means of winning the Cold War. That research turned out to be useless but it consumed a lot of budget money. Such policy could’ve prevented those spending. Nevertheless, the policy that approved only the research with proven and ethical methods would work better as it wouldn’t shut down credible research projects with unpredictable results.

In the end, although policy of funding scientific project based on the predictability of their findings seems a good idea, we should be skeptical about it as it has a potential of cutting funds from a lot of potentially valuable project along with the inefficient projects. If anything, we had better focus on investigating the methods of the research to be conducted and judging by their validity and ethical warrant to give funding only to proper scientific projects.