Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequence are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic raises a controversial issue of government funding for scientific research. Indisputably, any government should investigate the potential benefits and downsides of projects they invest in. However, it is challenging to predict the consequences of a research project at an early stage. Then, such a policy may cut funding from many potentially valuable scientific projects, which is unlikely a desired outcome. Thus, I would argue that we shouldn’t take budget from research projects that don’t have clear consequences without considering other factors.

To begin with, we cannot be sure about the consequences of any scientific project by definition because science deals with the unknown. Scientists may have some predictions of the result, but the outcome is typically different from what is anticipated, which is usual in science. Thus, adopting such a criterion for funding research will result in almost all potential scientific projects losing funding and shutting down. This is unlikely a desired consequence of this policy. Instead, we should focus on probabilistic criteria if we want to apply this policy and consider probabilities of potential research outcomes.

Furthermore, suppose we apply the recommendation of funding only scientific research with predictable consequences. In that case, we will likely end up in a situation where the government finances only applied research with specific questions, such as finding a cure to an existing disease or developing a weapon. Fundamental analysis that dives into the basics of our world and deals with the unknown the most will be underinvested, although it has the highest potential for valuable discoveries. For example, most modern technologies come from fundamental physics research that uncovered electricity and magnetism and allowed us to create computers. If the governments in the past didn’t fund that research properly, we wouldn’t have such rapid development now.

However, one could admit that the proposed policy has its benefits, namely cutting expenses on projects with questionable goals and outcomes. For example, there was a big interest in extrasensory research in the second half of the twentieth century. Many pseudo-sciences investigated the paranormal abilities of people. They gained government grants in countries like the USA or the USSR which wanted to use that research to win the Cold War. That research was useless, but it consumed a lot of budget money. Such a policy could’ve prevented those spending. Nevertheless, the approach that approved only the research with proven and ethical methods would work better as it wouldn’t shut down credible research projects with unpredictable results.

In the end, although the policy of funding scientific projects based on the predictability of their findings seems a good idea, we should be skeptical about it as it will cut funds from a lot of potentially valuable projects along with inefficient projects. If anything, we should focus on investigating the methods of the research to be conducted and judging by their validity and ethical warrant to give funding only to proper scientific projects.