In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement is linking progress with collective discussion among people having contrasting views. I mostly agree with this. There are certain reasons behind my position on this argument which are addressed below.

Progress always needs a collective approach under any circumstances. Discussion among people with different ideologies enables an organisation to make a better decision. Let's consider a situation that a nuclear powperplant is to be built at a certain area. While taking the final decision, taking opinions from all the stakeholders involved is really important. Engineers will consider this safe but environmentalist may disagree. Their contrasting discussion will create more pressure on the policy makers to follow all the compliance issues if the power plant is to be made. This will overall have a positive impression on the people too. Engineers have to explain the concept of energy mix, over all safety procedures to the people who are opposing it. At the same time they have to hear to the environmentalists as well and protect our nature as much as possible.

Similar thing is applicable while passing a law at legislature. A constructive debate among the parliament members will help to get all the perspectives regarding the law. How people of different cultures, places, social stages will react, whose purpose will be served, how it can be misused, what are the scopes of future improvement, how it should be modified to establish the rights of marginalised people-all of these views can be brought together by a discussion. If so, thesis and anti thesis will create a synthesis which will be beneficial to all. If there's no discussion among contrasting views, the aftermath or consequences can not be predicted either. It will be like blindness.

The aforementioned situations moderately explain the importance of debate among people having contrasting views. However, someone may argure that at times it can create unpleasant circumstances and debates that are not constructive. But getting a comprehensive view is more important than the fear of the minor demerits. That's why I mostly agree with the fact that discussion among people having contrasting views is a major element in the process of achieving success.