In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To do any works planning, estimation, future consequences and hence contrasting points of view. To run any work smoothly and skillfully contrasting point of view is equally important. The statement above states that any situation requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view, than only the work completes properly. I mostly agree on this statement of the author; any one should discuss among the people with contrasting point of view.

The people who shows the opposite view or have argument—regarding the work that has to be done are vital source of information. They show the wrong side of the project, its drawbacks which would be possible to occur in future. If the contrasting point of views are analyzed carefully then there we can find the flaws in it. So, it will be the great source of the mitigating the issue. For example, Adolf Hitlar -- who attacked Russia despite the suggestion not to do so by his fellow Generals -- had to be defeated badly. If Hitlar had listened to critics by his Generals he would not had to lost the war. From this example we can analyze the importance of critics or contrasting points of view.

Any work done considering contrasting point of view will have great success rate. To make success any work the argument of the people should be listened. Those people who give drawbacks about the situation may help to progress faster. If in any organization if the opponent or the party who shows the contrasting character are not listened or given importance then that program would not runs smoothly. There would be obstacle in near future.

Anyone, may say that listening those people with contrasting view points would cause disappointment, discourage, or pessimist to the people. This is somewhat true; it may cause such dissatisfaction by listening to the negative, however, one should reduce such feeling and accept those words as positive compliment. One should have capacity to listen and analyze the critics.

Finally, we can conclude that the statement is correct to some extent and above examples clarifies the validty of the statement.