Authorities should prioritize addressing present-day issues over anticipating and planning for future dilemmas.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prioritizing of present-day problem is very important. This strategy will allow authorities to completely focus on maximizing the resources to cater for the issues that are ravaging the community, or a society; But, the authorities should not do this, and completely lose cite of tomorrow's dilemma, because the very actions of today are influencing, directly or even indirectly problems that would be faced tomorrow.

The advent of Hydrocarbon was a revolutionary; With it, the world now has cheap energy (relative to other sources of energy), and it byproducts, such as bitumen, are being employed in various sectors of life. There is no gainsay that hydrocarbons have ultimately made our lives easier. However, the very reason we are faced with issues such as climate crisis, and the prophesy that hydrocarbon in the ground will soon be exhausted, shows how the authorities of the time did not holistically consider the future implications of full dependence on hydrocarbon, as well as the method of extraction. This shortsightedness and share euphoria of just having enough energy, blindsided many, and consequences such as flaring, were seen asa norm, that had no solution, till years later, when we started seeing the effects of flaring on our ozone layer, at which point, it was almost too late.

Plastics too, which can both be gotten from rubber tree, or Hydrocarbon, present us a plethora of important byproducts. From single-use plastics, to its application in sectors such as clothing and textile, appliances such as blenders, to the production of more complex materials, just because of the good ratio of strength to weight provided by plastics. Now, due to the cost and heavily focusing on the temporal and immediate satisfaction of single use plastics,the effect of the pervasive use of plastics can be seen in our water bodies, drainages, and even ending up in our bodies. We failed to consider the implications of the non-biodegradable nature of plastics, putting us in a situation now, where by we clamour for remedial solutions.

Some might speciously argue that we would face these issues regardless. In as much as there is some truth to this, especially in the aspects of plastics, the scrupulous analysis of the effect of these 'solutions' would have helped us adopt what a 'cradle-to-cradle' approach. This simply means a cyclic application of resources, and not just the temporal application. Thus, the effect and consequences would not be grave today.

Conclusively, authorities can focus on the present-day issue, but must not lose sight of the consequences of these strategies and actions tomorrow, so as to avoid them turning insurmountable. We should never lose sight that our actions today, determines if we actually have tomorrow