The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Competition brings in the good in people but if one needs the best and also to go far, cooperation should be employed. This prompts recommends that the accurate way to ready young people for the roles of leadership in government or other related field is by driving them through a sense of cooperation rather than competition. In my opinion i agree with this suggestion and argue that cooperation is indeed important to be instilled in young people rather than competition for three reasons.

To begin with, competition leads to hatred within communities or people, these can escalate to other detrimental things like feud, and even a melee. For instance, during the election in Nigeria, we had two main parties which compete for the presidential role. During this election, a lot of people lost their lives due to fights between the two parties and other egregious acts done by the parties. The sense of competing within them blocked their human-kind nature which resulted to not being empathetic towards their fellow competitor. The above example illustrates that competition leads to hatred within people, but if cooperation were to be employed instead, we would have a free and fair election without harming people.

Further, a tree in the bush can't build a forest. Young people have a lot of great ideas and skills within them to be explored. Competition within themselves would lead to hoarding of ideas without sharing with people. For example, a guy who is good in developing a software and another who is excellent in graphics and UI/UX design competed for a role and the software developer got the job. In the long run, the guy had a good software but the interface was bad, so he couldn't perform well and sell his applications properly. But with a sense of cooperation with the graphics designer, they would have performed better as a team and developed great applications with enthralling interfaces. In other words, cooperation is very important to build a reliable and strong team.

Finally, it is evident that competition is quite important also in some areas like school environment where students need to come out best by having better grades than their fellow students. However, building a sense of cooperation in them from the scratch would also allow them to work as a team even after graduation rather than having a sense of hatred which is not beneficial after leaving school. It is important to perpetuate the act of cooperation in young ones rather than competition.