"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company, it is stated that fewer people attended super screen-produced movies than in other years, and yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers actually increased. They have come to the conclusion a greater share of its budget next year would be allocated to reaching the public through advertising. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, did the negative reviews also decrease?. Movies can have a lot of positive reviews but also have more negative reviews. For example a blockbuster movie released last year could have about 100 positive review, if the bad review exceeds it by 50, this would lead to fewer people watching it even though it had more review previous years. Perhaps, people go through the reviews before deciding to watch the movies. If this scenario has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, did they release the same amount of movie and the same type of movie as previous year?. The director prematurely assumed that the same type of movie was produced over the years. For example, if the twenty movies each were released from previous years, but only ten was released last year, it is expected to have fewer viewers last year compared to previous years. Also, if majority of their viewers were interested in horror movies which had been showing before, compared to a change in the type of movie showing, to romantic one. It is also imminent to expect a reduction in viewers because there is a discrepancy in their preference of movie. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands, is now considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the director is able to answer the two questions above and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.