The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership in anything, be it a government body, industry, or other fields comes with experience and experience comes with when one has gone through many different stages of life. In my honest opinion, a mix of cooperation and competition both are required at different stages so as to be an effective leader.

In today's world, there is a cutthroat competition in every sector. To beat this a competitive nature is required so as to come on top. For example, If one has done MBA and wants to work in big multi-national company then that person has to compete with his or her peers to get in that company and sustain there. If there is no sense of competition in a person then he or she will not be able to clear the first stage of the hierarchy. This is about the first stage itself, Now in every office or workplace there is a hierarchy of work and one has to pass through it to become a leader. For example, In PWC, Which is a multinational company, to be at a top leadership position one has to go through lower level position namely, manager, deputy manager etc. A sense of competition is required because for every such postion there will be someone as good as to fill up the respective place and to beat that person fight is required.

In later stages, When one has reached at one of the leadership roles than cooperation comes in the picture. For example, If you are a CEO of a company then cooperation with the lower level subordinates is required to create a healthy environment. This environment gives you more productivity and efficiency which is must for thriving. When you are at higher position of leadership then having quality of team management becomes must and Cooperation helps to build it.

Thus, It depends on the circumstances in which one is in and according to the situation one has to choose between competition and cooperation. An amalgamate of both would be perfect to become an effective leader.