The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is, by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Whether it is a politician leading a government or a CEO of a company, a leader plays an important role in society. A leader tends to set an example for others, helps the organisation flourish and to get rid of various flaws of the institution, etc. But what are the qualities that makes a good and effective leader? Is cooperation the only skill required? Is cooperation more important than competition? It is difficult to strongly agree or disagree on the said issue as there are many factors which need to be weighed in before we can reach a conclusion.

An effective leader can be evaluated based on various factors, namely, his qualifications, his decision making ability, his ability to lead an organisation into success, his morals and principles, his work ethics, and so on. One of these factors is cooperation. An organisation is not made up of the leader alone. There are many people who work with the leader or for the leader. A good leader needs to have patience and should cooperate with his employees for the smooth functioning of the organisation. If the leader doesn't display skills of cooperation, how is he going to set an example for others? Hence, cooperation is an important skill which should be instilled in the youth.

That being said, is competition not as important as cooperation? Many a times, a organisation is competing with others to be the best, whether it is a government or a company, a school or a hospital. In that case, a leader needs to be aware of the sense of competition around him and act accordingly. After all, one of the most important roles of a leader is to ensure the success of his organisation. Hence, having a sense of competition, an idea of the standing of the organisation with respect to its competing organisations and an vision for the future of the organisation is important for a leader.

Therefore, there are many qualities which make an effective and strong leader including competition and cooperation. For the overall enhancements and well being of an organisation, both these qualities are equally important in their leader.