The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Healthy competition and cooperation is what leads an individual to the apex, regardless of the field he/she is working in. Young minds need to be made aware about how working together on cooperative basis can be advantageous. However, competition is what drives individuals to give in their best and provide peak performance. I mostly agree that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in various is by instilling a sense of cooperation in them.

In this modern era, it is believed that various minds when brought together can achieve excellence, but only if they work with the goal to be achieved in their mind and not letting it be affected by the differences among team members. Cooperation is a key aspect in order to achieve this. To be a leader of an organization or a political party means each and every individual working under the respective field is looking upto you, how you lead matters a lot. This can only happen if you are in mutual agreement with the majority and take decisions cooperatively. Competitive quality is good in a leader in order to motivate the individuals working under him/her, but it should not so much that it leads to the path of malpractices and affects the industry or government as a whole and calls its integrity into question.

Cooperation can sometimes hinder the growth of a team, for instance a person in a team working for the campaign of the upcoming election feels that they should follow a particular strategy, but the majority of the support is for another strategy and they decide on following the one with majority of votes, if such a situation happens often, people might stop putting forward their views and just go with what the majority says.

Further, no competition might also create a very neutral environment. Consider that a company wants to meet its year end deadlines and in order to achieve that, it says that whoever completes the maximum deadline will be rewarded with a promotion. If such an incentive is given, employees can have a healthy competition and can thrive to their fullest in order to gain the promotion. Alternatively, if the employees are given no incentives and are told to work together with team members, the goal might not even be achieved. Competition is thus a requirement in such cases.

The above instances show that neither cooperation nor competition alone are enough, cooperation along with balanced competition is the way in which young people will have the qualities in order to become leaders of various fields.