The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In any field of profession, competition encourages people to work better and do better than others which acts as a energy that drives them due to which productivity increases. Competiton along with cooperation is needed but cooporation will only help someone to work harmoniously but not as much productively. Therefore, the best way for a society to prepare its young prople for leadership in the field of government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of competition, not cooperation.

A young leader in any government position will always be a target of the experienced ones and they will obviously try to bring the young ones down in order to show their dominance and power. A competitive nature leader will surely try to go against this showcase of power by proving his or her own worth by expressing the knowledge within them. A competitive leader will do whatever it takes for the progress of the nation wether it be going against the experienced opition or anyone that will come in the way. In the other hands, a leader who is taught to focus on cooperation may not want to disappoint anyone and keep a harmonious environment. This may be a weakness which others might want to pounce upon.So, a competitive nature leader is needed for the progress of the country.

We have seen innovation in industry and technology throught the generations. The longest bridge and tallest skyscrapers we see today is a result of sense of competiton among the engineers. The discovery of pre stressed concrete inorder to build longer and longer bridges came through competition with others. In the past, very little span of bridges were present but now we can what humans can achieve. If there was no sense of beating the rivals, even if it was due to the ego of human, we would not be capable of discovering the human potential.

Technology is advancing on a daily basis. Few years ago we would have smartphones with very little storage capacity and we would have to buy memory card to insert in the smartphones. But as competition grew new smartphones came and they integrated chips due to which the phones would not require memory cards because a lot of memory could be stored in it. As a result of this memory cards vanished. This is just an example of one of the features of the smart phones. Due to increase in the competition we now have low cost phones with many new features. It is only possible because they have to compete against multi billion companies such as Apple, Samsung, etc.

Competition brings forth the ability within a person which he or she may not realise. It brings a person out of their comfort zone and makes the person want to learn better and do better. Competition brings innovation and the history has been an example for that. It is the human nature and that is how the potential of a human comes out. Hence, rather than teaching a fledging leader to be more cooperative, it will be beneficial to all if the novice leader is taught to compete.